Archive for February 9th, 2012

February 9, 2012

Adventures in Podcasting

Usually when I post on here about things I’ve made, I’m talking about things I made from yarn or scraps of fabric or flour. But the biggest claim on my time is making podcasts: chiefly Answer Me This!, which you probably already know about if you’ve fetched up here on my website (unless you found me accidentally after googling ‘Donald Rumsfeld doll‘ – if so, welcome!).

This Tuesday, I took part in the Fast Train event, cooked up by the BBC Academy and Skillset, where radio professionals came along to learn about more angles of the radio industry. I was charged with teaching people about podcasting, naturally. Shortly before my classes kicked off, I bumped into Jonathan Wall, the 5 Live commissioner who has very kindly been employing me on Saturday Edition for the past year and a half. “You’re giving away all your secrets!” he exclaimed.

In truth, there are no secrets. I have no training; I only know how to do it through having done it, pretty much every week, for more than five years now. I’m not sitting on any insider knowledge which has kept Answer Me This! going and growing for all this time – perhaps this can be ascribed to a combination of luck, persistence and application.

Therefore I thought I’d share my not-secrets on here in a few posts over the next few days, a rudimentary ‘How To’ guide for any of you who were considering giving podcasting a whirl. When we started, we had a copy of Podcasting For Dummies, which almost defeated us before we even began; so consider these posts to be Podcasting For People Who Are Dumber Than Dummies.

I can’t tell you what to say on your podcast, or how to say it in an interesting and engaging manner, but I can give you a quick rundown of what you are likely to need behind the scenes. If you have any particular questions about podcasting, stick them in the comments and I’ll try to address them. With very little learning, YOU can become a podcasting powerhouse. Although if and when you do become one, I’ll probably throw a jealous shitfit and wish I’d kept all the podcast knowhow sequestered, just like Jonathan Wall was trying to warn me to do.

