Toki Pona

An ex-boyfriend of mine used to say, “The limits of my language mean the limits of my world”; that’s right, my ex-boyfriend was Wittgenstein. And yes, the casual chitchat needed improvement.

But then, in the latest Allusionist, I realised he/Wittgenstein had a point.

My Radiotopisibling Nate DiMeo of The Memory Palace decided we should learn the minimalist designed language Toki Pona. I last studied a new language half a lifetime ago and my brain has calcified since, so I found this one difficult to grasp – and then, without verbal communication easily at my disposal, my whole persona crumbled. Pathetically quickly.

You can find the episode and links to the language at theallusionist.org/tokipona; if you decide to learn it yourself, let me know how you get on. Better than me, I expect.

PS Thanks SO MUCH to you if you donated to Radiotopia! 19,500+ people have ensured we can keep on doing our shows for at least another year.

Insert your opinions here

